Best practices for using the IOTA wallets safely

Author
T
Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)Attaching to Tangle (73 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Newbie here... Is iota wallet safe and secure? Can we store iota in the wallet for years to come?

And nothing to worry about?

Thanks.
Alexa
Alexa
True IOTAn (10K reputation)
Group: Moderators
Hi @Truths

thanks for your post and welcome to the forum!

1. Yes, the wallet is safe to use if you follow Eric’s advise in the OP. 
It’s always a good idea though to test how the wallet works with very small amounts before you receive and send larger amounts.
There's many people on the #donations-channel on Discord (invite link below), who'll be happy to send you some IOTA for testing purposes.

2. No, it’s not safe to put funds in your wallet and not worry about it for years to come. IOTA is still in development and changes are to be expected.
We have seen changes before, some of which required the IOTA owners to take some action.
So to be on the safe side, it’s necessary that you pay attention to important announcements and follow the instructions given for these situations.

Announcements will be made on IOTA’s Discord platform. If you check the #announcements-channel maybe every two weeks or once a month you should be good to go. Here’s an invite link to Discord:
https://discord.gg/hgbDnBd

There’s also a #help-channel on Discord as well as a Help subforum here in case you run into any problems or if you have any questions. 

Alexa